Nothing compares to you. Thank you for sharing your music, passion and pain with the world.

We wish we could have saved you from your sadness as your music saved us.

This loss was such a suprise. It has profoundly impacted so many in Ireland and around the world.

In hearing of her passing, I said to someone, “She really got me through some tough times.”

A raised eyebrow in response, I chose not to go deeper at that moment as we listened to her music.

Here’s why.

Back in 1990 and 1991, I played her album “I do not want what I haven’t got” about 100 times.

You see, in 1990, our father was diagnosed with cancer. It was like a knife in my heart. 16 months later, he was gone.

Music and running became my therapy.

Especially Sinéad’s music.

Her ethereal, cavernous, beautiful voice calmed me. And yes, her sadness and anger matched my feelings about losing our dad at such a young age.

It all resonated with me.

I guess, that is why such strong feelings have come back since I have learned of her death. Her music hits a lot of senses.

Maybe people are still upset with what she did on SNL. But, as a result of what she did, a light began to shine where there was darkness. I know God would have wanted that.

Some may know of just a few songs, but she has a beautiful version of Silent Night and Don’t Cry for Me Argentina. And, most recently, the intro for the Outlander Series #7.

An icon. Gone too soon.

I wonder if she knew how much she was truly loved.

Prayers and hugs go out to her family.

RIP Sinéad O’Connor.