Isn’t it funny that one song or piece of news can spur so many memories?

Then the next thing you know you are in a daze traveling down memory lane?

When I heard the news about Glenn Frey, it immediately took me back to the music he and the Eagles produced.

Memories started flooding in.

I used to love listening to “Hotel California” on the CD player we had in our very first house. The speakers were amazing. The music was so clear.

In fact, the very first song I learned to play on guitar was by the Eagles.

My mother gave me a gift certificate for music lessons on my 24th birthday.

My mom, dad and sisters all were musically inclined. Third child (me) not so.

Guess she knew.

How is it I did not learn an instrument in school or get lessons until I was 24?

Impatient? Too busy? Parents tired?

Anyway.

Never too late to learn.

My instrument of choice was guitar and my plan was to use my Dad’s old Spanish guitar.

The night of my first lesson, I sneaked away from work early.  I wanted to be sure to make it to my music lesson on time.

I made it just on time. I flew open the door to the music store and saw my new guitar instructor patiently waiting for me. My instructor was tall and skinny. I could tell he was nice instantly by his gentle smile and easy-going demeanor.

He looked about 40 years old and was wearing faded jeans, a white t-shirt and dusty worn boots. He held his long blond hair back in a low ponytail.

He was very calm.  Just the calm I needed back then (and now).

To slow down.

We smiled, shook hands and had some small talk before beginning our lesson.

I could tell he was eyeing my guitar.

To me it was just my Dad’s guitar.

I felt a little uncomfortable and asked if the old guitar would work.

“Sure, for now.” He said with a smile.

Then he asked me what was the one song I really wanted to play on my guitar.

What song?  My heart leaped for joy!  No need to worry about chords first?

“Well…I really love “Seven Bridges Road” by the Eagles.

I was introduced to this song by the Phi Mu Washboard Band at The University of Georgia  in Athens, GA. They sang it so beautifully. Friends and I played “Seven Bridges Road” on many a road trip thereafter.

He laughed then nodded, “Well, that is a fast one, but let’s get started.”

So that was the first song I learned to play on my guitar!  Several others followed and I eventually bought a new guitar, but I will always remember that first lesson and the freedom in learning a song I loved…first.

So, thanks to my music instructor, thanks to Glenn Frey, The Eagles, PhiMu Washboard Band, patient teachers, singers, song writers and my talented family.

There ARE stars in the southern sky.

Fin. Amy Peacock